General Information for a Florida marriage License by Mail.
Alert: At some point your signatures will need to be notarized. The couple has to be at the same location together for the notarization. If you are coming from out of the country check the possibility of having your signatures notarized and for any extra steps required by your country/embassy before and
- Any two people 18 years of age or old can apply for the marriage license. (USA citizens, Permanent Residents and Tourists).
- Each party must show a valid driver's license or state ID, military identification or a passport.
- Both parties must provide their Social Security numbers (US citizens and Permanent Residents; International applicants- passport only)
- If either party has been previously married, the party must provide the day, month and year when his or her last marriage ended by divorce, death or annulment.
- Couples are required by law to read a handbook supplied by the Clerk and sign a statement acknowledging that they have read the handbook before applying for the license.
- The license is valid for 60 days from the date of issue. For Florida residents there is a 3 day waiting period for the license to be valid. There is no waiting period for out of state or international applicants.
- If applying in person the license is issued the same day.
- Renewal of Vows does not require any additional documentation. (Check with your celebrant)
- No Blood test or witnesses are required.
International Couples – We recommend that you check with your Embassy/Consulate for any additional requirements prior or after the wedding in Florida for legalization in your country.after the wedding.
If you cannot comply with all the steps you should plan to apply together and in person at a courthouse in Florida. Courthouses are closed during the weekends and holidays. Check with the selected courthouse for hours of operations.
We are not lawyers or a law firm and we do not provide legal advice.